Your Tomorrow
Starts Today

Types of alimony in Florida divorces

On Behalf of | May 18, 2022 | Divorce |

It is not uncommon for one spouse to earn less income than another. When this is the case for a divorcing couple, the courts sometimes award alimony payments to the spouse with a lower-income level.

There are several types of alimony in Florida.

Permanent alimony

The courts sometimes award permanent alimony when one spouse does not have the financial ability to maintain the same standard of living that existed during the marriage after a divorce. The courts most often award this type of alimony when lengthy marriages dissolve, but they can award it after shorter marriages if the circumstances warrant it.

Bridge-the-gap alimony

The courts award this type of alimony to help a divorcing spouse transition from marriage to being single. The maximum duration of the award is two years.

Rehabilitative alimony

The courts award this type of alimony to help a divorcing spouse develop the skills necessary to become self-supporting. The spouse must have a specific plan to either redevelop previous skills or credentials or obtain new skills through education, work experience or training.

Durational alimony

The courts may award this type of alimony when they determine that permanent alimony is not appropriate because of the length of the marriage or because the divorcing spouse does not have an ongoing need for financial support. This award can not exceed the length of the marriage and terminates when either the former spouse dies or gets remarried.

If you are getting divorced in Florida and your spouse earns substantially more or less than you do, it is important to understand how alimony payments may affect your divorce settlement.